Dummies guide to starting your own baking business

I have finally finished reading all the literature I could find both online and from my local council, in regards to registering my business and applying for inspection.

I have officially filled out my application for registration to Croydon Council and am in the process of putting together my Food Safety Management System which is taking a while as I need to cover all these issues :

  • a detailed scale plan of the (proposed) establishment showing the location of rooms and other areas to be used for the storage and processing of raw materials, product and waste, and the layout of facilities and equipment
  • a description of the (proposed) food safety management system based on HACCP principles
  • a description of the (proposed) establishment and equipment maintenance arrangements
  • a description of the (proposed) establishment, equipment, and transport cleaning arrangements
  • a description of the (proposed) waste collection and disposal arrangements
  • a description of the (proposed) water supply
  • a description of the (proposed) water supply quality testing arrangements
  • a description of the (proposed) arrangements for product testing
  • a description of the (proposed) pest control arrangements
  • a description of the (proposed) monitoring arrangements for staff health
  • a description of the (proposed) staff hygiene training arrangements
  • a description of the (proposed) arrangements for record keeping
  • a description of the (proposed) arrangements for applying the identification mark to product packaging or wrapping.

As I am sure you can imagine I have Food Safety on my brain constantly and am even now having very strange dreams about food singing to me that I put them in the wrong place. Worrying! I could have done with a hybrid book for Dummies from the Baking and Home Business to help me through this process, but alas as there is no such thing I hope these posts help others looking to do the same.

Onwards with my quest 🙂 I will put a recipe up on Friday for you all to try out over the weekend.

Eryn xx

 

One thought on “Dummies guide to starting your own baking business

Leave a Reply

