Busy Bee That’s Me

For the past week I have been working very hard to cater for two family members birthdays, write my FSMS and plan for taking part in Macmillan’s World’s Biggest Coffee Morning.

Thankfully, I am happy to report, I successfully managed to get everything I needed to do finished with just enough time to sit down for a cuppa. Unfortunately, I didn’t quite get enough time to update my flog. To make up for my missing posts, I felt it was only right to post my lost recipe Friday Flog from last week and this week’s Wednesday progress update as well as spoiling you with today’s Friday Recipe Flog, so here it is people all three aspects wrapped up into one extended Friday Flog.

Let’s get stuck in straight away with Friday’s missing recipe. Last Friday I started making our Christmas Cake. Yes you heard me correctly CHRISTMAS CAKE!!! My husband loves Christmas and in particular Christmas Cake, I on the other hand am not a fan of fruit cake at all, so when I make this traditional celebration cake I make it purely out of love. Now I know you are all thinking why on earth has she started now in September . . . well it is simply because in order to have a lovely rich cake you need to have well soaked fruit and then a nicely fed cake. Fed with lashings of alcohol of course not more food, I hasten to add. So for last Fridays Recipe Flog here are the ingredients you need to start the preparations for your Christmas Cake.

 

Put all the fruit into a large bowl, snipping the glacé cherries and apricots into small pieces first. Add the grated zest and cinnamon stick. Dissolve the caster sugar in the orange juice over a low heat in a saucepan, once dissolved (make sure not to let it boil) remove from the heat and add the Apricot Brandy then pour over the fruit.

Make sure all the fruit is covered, mix well and transfer to an air tight container such as Tupperware or a freezer bag sealed in a tin as shown in the picture. For the first week stir the fruit to move the booze around evenly every other day, then once every week for a further 5 weeks. After 6 weeks you will have a perfect fruit medley for your Christmas Cake.

Take care to store it in a dry, dark place away from direct sunlight, if you run short on time a week or two’s soaking is far better than none. Finally if you prefer to make a cake fit for the whole family (this includes little ones) then dissolve 150g of sugar with equal parts water and pour over the fruit and keep in the same way. This rehydrates the dried fruit and gives it a yummy flavour.

The next part is the progress update on my quest. Well unfortunately it is a bit slow right now, my FSMS (Food Safety Management System) is pretty much finished, I just need to do a scale drawing of my flat to show the areas I need to control whilst cooking and how I intend to do this. Thankfully my dad is an Architect and one of my brothers is a drafts-man so I am hoping I can ask them for advice on how to do this. I am still waiting for my council to acknowledge my application for registration and let me know when my kitchen will be inspected. Other than this I have been baking up a storm in order to take part in the Maccmillan Coffee Morning which took place this morning. I baked for two days straight in order to be ready and will of course be writing a full post about this next week as we have continued the day into Sunday so stay tuned.

Finally my Friday Recipe Flog for today is a Ginger Shortbread Slice which I made and bagged up for the above mentioned coffee morning and here is how I made it.

Preheat the oven to 180C / Fan 160o C/ Gas Mark 4. Grease and line a 16 x 26 cm baking tin.

Cream the butter and sugar in a bowl with an electric whisk until pale and fluffy. Sift the flours, ginger and a pinch of salt into the bowl and fold in until combined. Use a wooden spoon to smooth the mixture into the tin, pressing firmly down making sure it is even all over. Bake for 20-25 minutes until light golden brown. Allow to cool slightly.

Whilst the base is cooling place the sugar, butter, golden syrup ad ground ginger into a saucepan over a low heat. Stir continuously until the butter has melted and the sugar has dissolved. Pour over the warm base and quickly sprinkle the glacé ginger over the top. Allow to cool in the tin completely before cutting into pieces.

So there you have it, a very long Friday Flog, I hope you enjoy it. Let me know if any of you decide to start your Christmas Cake now like I have.

Happy Baking.

Eryn

xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

